Royal Mail celebrates National Parks with new stamp issue

ROYAL MAIL has revealed its first stamp issue of 2021.

The stamps celebrate the beauty of the UK’s national parks and mark 70 years since the first National Parks were founded.

The National Parks were created as the outcome of decades of public effort to open up the countryside to ordinary people.

2021 marks the 70th anniversary of the founding of the UK’s first four National Parks: the Peak District, the Lake District, Dartmoor and Snowdonia.

The stamp set features 10 of the 15 National Parks:

  • Peak District (founded 1951)
  • Lake District (1951)
  • Snowdonia (1951)
  • Dartmoor (1951)
  • North York Moors (1952)
  • The Broads (1989)
  • New Forest (2005)
  • South Downs (2010)
  • Pembrokeshire Coast (1952)
  • Loch Lomond and The Trossachs (2002)

For more than 50 years Royal Mail’s Special Stamp programme has commemorated anniversaries and celebrated events relevant to UK heritage and life.

Philip Parker, Royal Mail, said: “Ten spectacular National Parks have been captured in stunning photographs that reflect their diversity and splendour. We are proud to be able to share the beauty of these parks on stamps at a time when so many of us have had our travel restricted.”

Royal Mail worked with the National Parks on choosing a selection of images to celebrate the anniversary.

The stamps will be available on general sale on January 14, 2021.

Daily Echo | News